Upload Photo
"Dead End in Norvelt," Jack Gantos 2012 John
Caption / Share

"Dead End in Norvelt," Jack Gantos

2012 John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature.
(Farrar, Straus and Giroux; $15.99)
BEST FOR Ages 10 and up(Credit: Handout)

1 of 91

Share this photo

Newbery Children's Book Medal Winners, 1922-now

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. Here's a list of the medal winners starting with the most recent through 1922, when the first Newbery award was given out. You can find these books at your local library or on Amazon.com.
---- Compiled by Jennifer Berger